Safeguarding Children's logo

Continuum of Need

In St Helens, the Continuum of Need has been developed to assist professionals involved with children identify the levels of vulnerability of children and their families.

All agencies and organisations in St Helens operate within the Continuum's thresholds for delivery of services.

The Continuum identifies 4 levels:

  • Level 1 Children with no additional needs
  • Level 2 Children with additional needs showing early signs of vulnerability
  • Level 3 Children in need who require statutory or specialist services
  • Level 4 Children who are suffering or likely to suffer significant harm

St Helens Continuum of Need Diagram

The Continuum of Need should be used as a reference tool for professionals

Please refer to the Thresholds of Need document as it highlights how Social Care services will apply thresholds to referrals made to its services.


© St.Helens Council 2018